Book Glow editors handpick every product we feature. We may earn commission from the links on this page.

The Best New Books To Read In December 2022

The Best New Books To Read In December 2022

The best new books to read in December 2022 include new books by bestselling authors including contemporary and literary fiction, historical fiction, detective and mystery novels, romance books, and must-read nonfiction. Curl up by the fire, take a break during the hustle and bustle of the holiday season, and enjoy the start of the winter season and the end of 2022 with these 10 new highly anticipated December books. Available to purchase now or preorder, these are the most anticipated books of December 2022.

The Best New Books To Read In December 2022

1. Light to the Hills by Bonnie Blaylock

Release Date: December 1

About the book: A richly rewarding novel about family bonds, the power of words, and the resilience of mothers and daughters in 1930s Appalachia.

Available at Amazon


2. A Dangerous Business by Jane Smiley

Release Date: December 6

About the book: From the beloved Pulitzer Prize-winning and best-selling author of A Thousand Acres: a mystery set in 1850s Gold Rush California, as two young prostitutes—best friends Eliza and Jean—follow a trail of missing girls.

Available at Amazon


3. The Widowmaker by Hannah Morrissey

Release Date: December 6

About the book: A wealthy family shrouded in scandal; a detective tasked with solving an impossible cold case; and a woman with a dark past collide in Hannah Morrissey’s stunning new Black Harbor mystery, The Widowmaker.

Available at Amazon


4. The Light Pirate by Lily Brooks-Dalton

Release Date: December 6

About the book: “A luminous and wrenching portrait of a frighteningly possible future,” The Light Pirate is a hopeful, sweeping story of survival and resilience spanning one extraordinary woman’s lifetime as she navigates the uncertainty, brutality, and arresting beauty of a rapidly changing world (Booklist, starred review).

Available at Amazon


5. The Ingenue by Rachel Kapelke-Dale

Release Date: December 6

About the book: My Dark Vanessa meets The Queen’s Gambit in this new novel of suspense about the bonds of family, the limits of talent, the risks of ambition, and the rewards of revenge.

Available at Amazon


6. Witcha Gonna Do by Avery Flynn

Release Date: December 6

About the book: An unlucky witch and her know-it-all nemesis must team up in the first of a new, spicy romantic comedy series from USA Today bestselling author Avery Flynn.

Available at Amazon


7. The Sunshine Girls by Molly Fader

Release Date: December 6

About the book: “A breathtaking story of an extraordinary friendship. Molly Fader has penned an unforgettable novel that is sure to be one of the year’s best.” —Kristy Woodson Harvey, New York Times bestselling author of The Wedding Veil.

Available at Amazon


8. Screaming on the Inside: The Unsustainability of American Motherhood by Jessica Grouse

Release Date: December 6

About the book: In this timely and necessary book, New York Times opinion writer Jessica Grose dismantles two hundred years of unrealistic parenting expectations and empowers today’s mothers to make choices that actually serve themselves, their children, and their communities.

Available at Amazon


9. All the Dark Places by Terri Parlato

Release Date: December 27

About the book: A savage murder rocks a quiet Massachusetts suburb, revealing the dark secrets at the center of a group of friends and setting two women – one with a traumatic past, the other a Boston police detective – on a hunt for truth in this stylish debut thriller for fans of Megan Miranda and Shari Lapena…

Available at Amazon


10. The Book of Everlasting Things by Aanchal Malhotra

Release Date: December 27

About the book: For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, a lush, sweeping love story about a Hindu perfumer and a Muslim calligrapher, set against the backdrop of partition.

Available at Amazon

More books to read in December:

10 Books To Get You In The Holiday Spirit

Holiday gifts for book lovers 2022 shopping guide:

Holiday gift guides 2022: The ultimate gift guide for book lovers on your list

Visit our Reading Essentials section to discover the best bookshelvesreading chairsbook lights for reading at night, and more!

Receive top book recommendations directly in your inbox.

BOOKGLOW
BOOKGLOW
ADMINISTRATOR
PROFILE

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Most Read

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos